Facebook Interférences MM2022_Plan de travail 1.png

Info

Performance

Saturday June 18 |  7:30 p.m.  |  Pay what you can

Galerie Sans Nom

140 Botsford Street

Moncton, NB, E1C 4X5

Interferences is a collaborative art residency that brings together Angie Richard (MCT), Stellaleona (SJ) and Kama La Mackerel (MTL) for four days of creation at Galerie Sans Nom.

Check it out to catch a glimpse of their process from the 15th to the 18th and most importantly, come see their performance on Saturday June 18th at 7:30 pm at Galerie Sans Nom!

In partnership with the Regroupement féministe du Nouveau-Brunswick and  Galerie Sans Nom

Bios

Angie Richard is a filmmaker and multidisciplinary artist from Cap-Pelé, New Brunswick. She received her Bachelor of Visual Arts from the Université de Moncton in 2013.


Recipient of the 2019 "La Vague" award for best Acadian short film for the film "Le grous poisson", she has received several grants from the Canada Council for the Arts and the Province of New Brunswick. She has also participated in several creative residencies and her work has been presented internationally at festivals in Paris (France), Lafayette (Louisiana, USA), the Maritime provinces and Quebec.


Working with video and animation she creates multimedia art installations, experimental films, and VJ projections. Her work revolves around themes related to her identity, such as the sea, language and place.

Named after the god of love, Kama La Mackerel is a multilingual writer, visual artist, performer, translator and educator who believes in love, transformation and justice. Their work ventures beyond the borders of disciplinarity and creates hybrid spaces from which to enunciate decolonial and queer vocabularies. Wholeheartedly invested in ocean narratives, island sovereignty, transgender poetics and ancestral healing, their body of work challenges colonial notions of time and space as these relate to history, power, language, subject formation and the body.

Stellaleona (Lindsay Hazen) (they/them/iel) is a high soprano and garageband producer who performs as Stellaleona. They are a co-founder of Moondrip Collective, a queer run record label and fledgling community organization. As a project, Stellaleona is about low fidelity, high emotions, and a personal reclamation of inner-space and peace of mind as a non-binary lesbian living under capitalism in the times of major climate catastrophe and a culture of overconsumption. Stellaleona has been featured in First Listen Zine, CBC Radio, and Tin Can Chronicles and has won the Party Sauce Award 2022 for Best Experimental Artist and the Local 107.3 Best of Saint John Award 2021 for FEMCORE Artist of the Year.

Facebook Interférences MM2022_Plan de travail 1.png

Infos

Performance

Samedi 18 juin 2022  |  19 h 30  |  Choisissez ce que vous payez

Galerie Sans Nom

140, rue Botsford

Moncton, NB, E1C 4X5

Interférences est une résidence artistique collaborative qui réunit Angie Richard (MCT), Stellaleona (SJ) et Kama La Mackerel (MTL) pour quatre jours de création à la Galerie Sans Nom.

Allez y faire un tour du 15 au 18 juin pour attraper un aperçu de leur processus et surtout, venez assister à leur performance le samedi 18 juin à 19h30 à la Galerie Sans Nom !

En partenariat avec le Regroupement féministe du Nouveau-Brunswick et la Galerie Sans Nom

Bios

Angie Richard est une cinéaste et artiste multidisciplinaire originaire de Cap-Pelé, Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle obtient son Baccalauréat en arts visuels de l’Université de Moncton en 2013.


Récipiendaire en 2019 du prix “La Vague” de la meilleure œuvre acadienne court métrage pour le film “Le grous poisson”, elle reçoit plusieurs bourses du Conseil des Arts du Canada et du Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle a également participé à plusieurs résidences de création et son travail a été présenté internationalement lors de festivals à Paris (France), à Lafayette (Louisiane, É.-U.), dans les provinces maritimes et au Québec.


En travaillant avec la vidéo et l’animation elle crée des installations d’art multimédia, des films expérimentaux, et des projections VJ. Ses œuvres gravitent autour des thèmes liés à son identité, comme la mer, la langue et le lieu.

Ayant hérité son nom du dieu de l'amour, Kama La Mackerel est un·e auteur·ice multilingue, artiste visuelle, performeur·e, traducteur·ice et éducateur·ice qui croit en l'amour, la transformation et la justice. Son travail interdisciplinaire façonne des espaces hybrides et articule des vocabulaires décoloniaux et queer. Avec une attention pour les récits océaniques, la souveraineté des îles, la poétique transgenre et la guérison ancestrale, l'ensemble de ses créations remet en question les notions coloniales d'espace-temps en lien avec l'histoire, le pouvoir, le langage, le corps, et la formation du sujet.

Stellaleona (Lindsay Hazen)(they/them/iel) est une soprano aiguë et une productrice de garageband qui se produit sous le nom de Stellaleona. Iel est cofondateurice de Moondrip Collective, un label de disques géré par des queers et une organisation communautaire naissante. En tant que projet, Stellaleona parle de basse fidélité, d'émotions fortes et d'une reconquête personnelle de l'espace intérieur et de la paix de l'esprit en tant que lesbienne non binaire vivant sous le capitalisme à l'heure d'une catastrophe climatique majeure et d'une culture de surconsommation. Stellaleona a été présenté.e dans First Listen Zine, CBC Radio et Tin Can Chronicles et a remporté le Party Sauce Award 2022 pour le meilleur artiste expérimental et le Local 107.3 Best of Saint John Award 2021 pour l'artiste FEMCORE de l'année.