Facebook Ciné MM2022_Plan de travail 1.png

Info

Friday June 17, 2022  |  8 p.m. |  Free

Centre culturel Aberdeen, 2nd Floor

140 Botsford Street

Moncton, NB, E1C 4X5

An evening of feminist short films from here and elsewhere at the Sommet Park in partnership with the FICFA Series. The films are open to all and subtitled in English or French!

Bring your chair, bean bag, bench and blanket!

In partnership with the Festival international du cinéma francophone en Acadie

Program

Odehimin_300DPI_5.jpeg

Odehimin

Kijâtai-Alexandra Veillette-Cheezo

CANADA (QUEBEC), 2020, EXPERIMENTAL, 9 MIN, FRENCH/ENGLISH, FRENCH SUBTITLES

 

Odehimin is about reconnecting with yourself and learning to love yourself again.

Lolos_Capture_Droits à demander.jpeg

Lolos (Boobs)

Marie Valade

CANADA (QUÉBEC), 7 MIN, NO DIALOGUE

 

A young woman in ink drawing is destabilized by the arrival of paper breasts that are born on her chest and must quickly deal with these new foreign bodies. Her breasts lead her into increasingly unusual situations that reveal her deepest anxieties: the fear of becoming a woman, the apprehension of female rivalries, the taming of male desire, the worries of becoming a mother and finally the fear of cancer and a loss of bearings. Lolos is both a comic and dark journey exploring a woman's love-hate relationship with her body and femininity. It highlights the powerful symbolism that breasts evoke in everyone's eyes.

1.Amaryllis_Tremblay©Alexandre_Nour_Desjardins-thegem-gallery-metro.jpg

Girls Shouldn’t Walk Alone at Night

Katerine Martineau

CANADA (QUÉBEC), 2020, FICTION, 17 MIN, FRENCH, ENGLISH SUBTITLES

After a late night high school graduation party, Chantal and Delphine find themselves walking home alone in the dark. Lost in the forest, their long nightwalk is punctuated by carelessness and an irrepressible desire to exist.

DemainEncore_GRAB_02_300dpi.png

Another Tomorrow

Sarah Tardif

CANADA (QUÉBEC), 2021, À 9 MIN, NO DIALOGUE

 

At the crossroads of documentary and narrative fiction, Tomorrow Again is an ode to maternal love, presenting a window into the daily life of a single mother and her child through a typical day.

Capture d’écran, le 2022-06-09 à 10.04.34.png

The Great Malaise

Catherine Lepage

CANADA (QUÉBEC), 2019, 5 MIN, FRENCH, FRENCH SUBTITLES

A young woman tries to describe herself, presenting herself in an idyllic light: the one expected of her. The visual narration tells a different story, however, illustrating with poignant force the anxiety-inducing charge of hyperperformance and the race for happiness. A film that is both funny and touching, and above all, deeply human.

La coiffeuse.png

The Hairdresser

Lorraine Price

CANADA (QUÉBEC), 2021, 13 MIN, FRENCH, ENGLISH SUBTITLES

 

Kathleen is a hairdresser. She always has been and always will be. Even at the age of 83 she is still doing hair, just not in the way you would expect. Kathleen's work is special—she does the hair of terminally ill patients, in a palliative care unit. In this short, poetic documentary, Kathleen reflects on her experience, as we bear witness to her touching work.

Jaime les filles.png

I Like Girls

Diane Obomsawin

CANADA (QUÉBEC), 2016, 8 MIN, FRENCH, FRENCH SUBTITLES

In this animated short from Diane Obomsawin, four women reveal the nitty-gritty about their first loves, sharing funny and intimate tales of one-sided infatuation, mutual attraction, erotic moments, and fumbling attempts at sexual expression. For them, discovering that they're attracted to other women comes hand-in-hand with a deeper understanding of their personal identity and a joyful new self-awareness.

Facebook Ciné MM2022_Plan de travail 1.png

Ciné à l'intérieur

Infos

Vendredi 17 juin 2022  |  20 h |  Entrée gratuite

Centre culturel Aberdeen, 2e étage

140, rue Botsford

Moncton, NB, E1C 4X5

Soirée de courts-métrages féministes d'ici ou d'ailleurs au Parc du Sommet en partenariat avec les Séries FICFA du FICFA. Les films sont ouverts à tou.te.s et sous-titrés en anglais ou en français !

En partenariat avec le Festival international du cinéma francophone en Acadie

Programme

Odehimin_300DPI_5.jpeg

Odehimin

Kijâtai-Alexandra Veillette-Cheezo

CANADA (QUÉBEC), 2020, EXPÉRIMENTAL, 9 MIN, V.O. FRANÇAISE/ANGLAISE, S.-T. FRANÇAIS

Odehimin c’est se reconnecter avec soi-même et réapprendre à s’aimer.

Lolos_Capture_Droits à demander.jpeg

Lolos

Marie Valade

CANADA (QUÉBEC), 7 MIN, SANS DIALOGUE

 

Une jeune femme en dessin à l’encre est déstabilisée par l'arrivée de seins de papier qui naissent sur sa poitrine et doit rapidement composer avec ces nouveaux corps étrangers. Ses seins l’entraînent dans des situations de plus en plus insolites qui lui révèlent ses angoisses profondes : la crainte de devenir femme, l’appréhension de rivalités féminines, l’apprivoisement du désir masculin, les soucis reliés au fait de devenir mère et finalement la peur du cancer et d’une perte de repères. Lolos est un voyage à la fois comique et sombre explorant la relation d’amour-haine d'une femme pour son corps et sa féminité. Une mise en lumière du symbolisme puissant qu'évoquent les seins aux yeux de tous.

1.Amaryllis_Tremblay©Alexandre_Nour_Desjardins-thegem-gallery-metro.jpg

Les filles ne marchent pas seules la nuit

Katerine Martineau

CANADA (QUÉBEC), 2020, FICTION, 17 MIN, V.O. FRANÇAISE, S.-T. ANGLAIS

 

Par une nuit d’été, leur secondaire terminé, Chantal et Delphine reviennent chez elles à pied. Perdues au milieu de la forêt, leur longue marche nocturne est ponctuée d’insouciance et d’une envie irrépressible d’exister.

DemainEncore_GRAB_02_300dpi.png

Demain encore

Sarah Tardif

CANADA (QUÉBEC), 2021, À 9 MIN, V.O. SANS DIALOGUE

 

À la croisée du documentaire et de la fiction narrative, Demain encore est une ode à l'amour maternel, présentant ainsi une fenêtre sur le quotidien d’une mère monoparentale et de son enfant à travers une journée type.

Capture d’écran, le 2022-06-09 à 10.04.34.png

Le mal du siècle

Catherine Lepage

CANADA (QUÉBEC), 2019, 5 MIN, V.O. FRANÇAISE, S.-T. FRANÇAIS

Une jeune femme tente de se décrire, se présentant sous un jour idyllique : celui qu’on attend d’elle. La narration visuelle raconte cependant une tout autre histoire, illustrant avec une force poignante la charge anxiogène de l’hyperperformance et de la course au bonheur. Un film à la fois drôle et touchant, et surtout, profondément humain.

La coiffeuse.png

La coiffeuse

Lorraine Price

CANADA (QUÉBEC), 2021, 13 MIN, V.O. FRANÇAISE, S.-T. ANGLAIS

 

Kathleen est coiffeuse. Elle l'a toujours été et le sera toujours. Même à l'âge de 83 ans, elle coiffe toujours, mais pas comme on pourrait s'y attendre. Le travail de Kathleen est spécial : elle coiffe les patients malades en phase terminale, aux soins palliatifs. Dans ce court documentaire poétique, Kathleen revient sur son expérience, alors que nous témoignons de son travail touchant.

Jaime les filles.png

J'aime les filles

Diane Obomsawin

CANADA (QUÉBEC), 2016, 8 MIN, V.O. FRANÇAISE, S.-T. FRANÇAIS

Dans ce court métrage de la bédéiste et cinéaste d’animation québécoise Diane Obomsawin (alias Obom), Charlotte, Mathilde, Marie et Diane racontent avec franchise et candeur leurs premières histoires d’amour. Du coup de foudre à sens unique à l’attirance mutuelle, pour chacune d’entre elles, le moment de l’éveil sexuel a rejoint une prise de conscience identitaire : la découverte du désir homosexuel!